Ocean Bay Vipers

+++

After having played a lot of blood bowl online during COVID I then went through a bit of a lull for the game. I think this was partly due to not wanting to learn the new rules, and partly due to playing a lot of vampires and getting fed up with the 2+ blood lust rolls ( to make things worse it’s a 4+ in the new rules….). I therefore didn’t have much motivation until the new Amazon team was released, coinciding with a new SELWG league starting and so I decided to jump back in.

I went with a simple “Miami vice” colour scheme of black, blue and pink, and painted the team up quite quickly over a couple of weeks. They aren’t my best work but they do the job. The models themselves are great, some nice poses and I love how they are all barefoot. The thrower model in particular looks really cool with the snake. I tried googling snake skin patterns but they are so complicated I just went with simple patterns in the end.

I did try to paint the eyes for the first time on this team. I initially painted the eyes fully black, and then painted a white blob in the outside corner. I then needed a bit of tidy up with flesh paint if I went outside the lines a bit. It’s certainly not a great job but they at least don’t look cross eyed…. I literally can’t see the detail any closer than what I have done- I can only think the experts use a magnifying glass or something similar- or maybe just my eyesight is going.

I tried to differentiate the linemen from positionals by painting the numbers in a different colour- blue for line and pink for positional. I also painted a few stripes by the number to highlight the players with skills- in the new league you get 50k of skills for free, so I went with 2 x wrestle (chosen) and a random which turned out to be strip ball.

I went with 3 rerolls and am saving up for an apothecary.

The new league format now replicates the old online format we had of two divisions with promotion and relegation. I have thankfully been placed in the lower league although a last place finish is still very much on the cards.

+++

Starting team

1. Line- Nikki- Wrestle (chosen)

2. Line – Amy- Wrestle (chosen)

3. Blocker- Vivi

4. Blocker- Kirsten

5. Line – Cindy – Strip ball (random)

6. Line- Sky

7. Thrower- Marie

8. Blitzer- Tania

9. Blitzer- Scarlett

10. Line – Jenna

11. Line – Jodie

2 thoughts on “Ocean Bay Vipers

Leave a comment